Overview
To determine if using Google Ads is right for you, you must:
- Understand Google Ads
- Differentiate paid advertising and search engine optimization (SEO)
- Calculate your expected return on ad spend (ROAS)
We'll walk through each of these topics and then dive into how to integrate Klaviyo and Google Ads. This will empower you to create an ad strategy that suits your business needs.
What is Google Ads?
Action steps for success
Let’s discuss how Google Ads and SEO differ, so you have a full perspective on how to rank higher in Google search. Then, we will walk through how to measure your ROAS to determine if this investment is right for you.
Differentiate Google Ads and SEO
- Search engine optimization (SEO)
The practice of creating high-quality content that people can find through an organic search (such as Google). You use keywords within your website content and metadata, and other strategies, to help your website rank higher in search results over time. This is a long-term process you should continually monitor and improve; you won’t necessarily see success overnight. That said, unlike with Google Ads, you can implement an SEO strategy for free. - Google Ads
Advertisements that you pay for using a pay-per-click model can appear in search results, across websites, and within YouTube videos. You may see results immediately because, when you pay for this service, you can be confident that Google will display your ads according to the criteria (e.g., keywords, budget, etc.) you’ve set in your Google Ads account.
At the end of the day, you should always strive to boost SEO, even if you do invest in paid advertising, like Google Ads. Learn more about SEO, and work towards higher organic search rankings over time.
Understand and calculate your ROAS
What is ROAS?
ROAS measures the value of your advertising investment divided by its cost.
Any investment you make for your company, you will either see a net profit, a loss, or a break-even point. By projecting this in advance, you can better assess whether or not a specific project is worth the money you must spend to make it happen.
Calculate ROAS:
ROAS = (Conversion value ÷ Cost of investment)
Let's say that you will profit of $50 from each sale you get from our ad campaign. You also project that this ad will cost you about $5 per click. In that case, your ROAS is 10 (because 50 ÷ 5 = 10). Thus, for every dollar you spend on this campaign, you will make a $10 profit. It's then up to you to decide if that value is worth the cost and effort you put into it.
Need some helpful tools to get started?
- Calculate estimated value: use this tool to input data that aligns with your business and calculate the value you expect to see from your ad campaign.
- Check out industry benchmarks: for metrics in Google Ads, like click-through and conversion rates.
- Set a budget: keep yourself on track to hit your allocated budgeting goals by setting up budgets and utilizing built-in tools within the ad platform you are working in.
Determine if Google Ads is right for you
With any project, you should aim to gain a positive return on your investment. The same applies to digital advertising. Ensure that the amount of money, time, and energy you put into your ad strategy will likely pay off. While not every ad you run will be a smashing success, you should feel confident going into the project that running an ad is the right choice for your business.
- Do you project a positive ROAS?
Great! Share with your team and make a plan to execute a thoughtful ad campaign. - Do you expect a negative ROAS?
If your costs outweigh the projected profit you would gain from this advertising, then you may want to re-strategize and focus on improving SEO instead. Perhaps paid advertising is not the right fit for you or your customer base. No worries! Not every brand needs to run robust digital ad campaigns, and we have many recommendations for cost-effective strategies across Klaviyo Academy. Explore our wide range of courses to help determine the best fit for your brand.
Integrate Klaviyo with Google Ads
Note: You must have admin permissions for your Google Ads account to integrate. Klaviyo's Google Ads integration will only work properly if your Google Ads account is eligible for Customer Match.
Log into Klaviyo and follow the steps below to integrate Klaviyo and Google Ads:
- Within the Integrations tab of Klaviyo (found by clicking on your account name in the lower left-hand corner of the screen), navigate to All Integrations.
- Search for Google Ads.
- Select Add Integration.
- Click Connect to Google. You’ll be directed to agree to the terms of the integration within your Google Ads account; log in and do so before proceeding.
- Once completed, return to Klaviyo and select the Google Ads account you wish to integrate.
- Under Connections, select a Klaviyo list or segment that you’d like to sync to a Google audience. Unsure of who to target right now? No worries; you can return to this step at any time after integrating to change or add more connections, and we will run through examples of segments to sync later on in this course.
- Click Complete Setup, and be on the lookout for a linking request email from Google Ads Manager. You must accept this linking request in order to finish the integration process.
For more in-depth instructions, head to the Klaviyo Help Center.
Once you've integrated Klaviyo and Google Ads, we recommend linking your Google Ads and Google Analytics accounts to help you better monitor ad performance. We will discuss how to monitor performance later on in this course.