Understand Meta Ads
Learn how the Klaviyo and Meta Ads integration can help you increase brand awareness, gain new leads, encourage people to shop from your store, and more.
Note: Meta is the parent company of Facebook, Instagram, and Messenger. Bear in mind, that when we reference Facebook Advertising, this was the former name for what is now Meta Ads. With Klaviyo's integration with Meta Ads, you can better target your ads on all 3 of these platforms.
Integrate Klaviyo and Meta Ads
Now that you have a better handle on what Klaviyo's Meta Ads integration can do, it's time to dive in.
First, estimate the value of this channel for your brand by calculating your expected return on ad spend (ROAS). If you project a positive ROAS, continue on to integrate and build a full ad strategy.
Calculate your return on ad spend (ROAS)
What is ROAS?
Return on ad spend (ROAS) measures the value of your advertising investment divided by its cost.
With any investment you make for your company, you will either see a net profit, loss, or break-even point. By projecting this in advance, you can better assess whether or not a specific project is worth the money you must spend to make it happen.
Calculate ROAS:
ROAS = (Conversion value ÷ Cost of investment)
Let's say that you will make a profit of $50 from each sale you get from your ad campaign. You also project that this ad will cost you about $5 per click. In that case, your ROAS is 10 (because 50 ÷ 5 = 10). Thus, for every dollar you spend on this campaign, you will make a $10 profit. It's then up to you to decide if that value is worth the cost and effort you're putting into it.
Need some helpful tools to get started?
- Calculate estimated value: use this tool to input data that aligns with your business and calculate the value you expect to see from your ad campaign.
- Check out industry benchmarks: for metrics in Meta Ads, like click-through rate and conversion rate.
- Set up a budget: keep yourself on track to hit your allocated budgeting goals, by setting up budgets and utilizing built-in tools within the ad platform you are working in.
Determine if Meta Ads is right for you
With any project, you should aim to gain a positive return on your investment. The same applies to digital advertising. Make sure that the amount of money, time, and energy you put into your ad strategy is likely to pay off. While not every ad you run will be a smashing success, you should feel confident going into the project that running an ad is the right choice for your business.
- Do you project a positive ROAS?
Great! Share with your team and make a plan to execute a thoughtful ad campaign. - Do you expect a negative ROAS?
If your costs outweigh the projected profit you would gain from this advertising, then you may want to re-strategize and instead focus on improving SEO. Perhaps paid advertising is not the right fit for you or your customer base. No worries! Not every brand needs to run robust digital ad campaigns, and we have many recommendations for cost-effective strategies across Klaviyo Academy. Explore our wide range of courses to help determine the best fit for your brand.
Integrate Klaviyo with Meta Ads
In order to integrate, follow the instructions below:
- Click your account name in the lower left corner of the screen, and select Integrations. Then navigate to All Integrations.
- Search for Meta Ads, and select Add Integration.
- You will land on a page where you can review the functionality of the integration.
- Click Connect to Meta Ads to begin the setup process.
You will then be directed to Meta where you’ll give Klaviyo the permissions required to sync your data and accept their Terms of Service. In Meta, confirm that you:
- Are using the correct personal Meta Ads account (i.e. the one tied to your Meta business account)
- Are using the correct business account
- Have accepted all default permissions so that Klaviyo can access Meta data
Next, you’ll be directed back to Klaviyo to finish the integration process:
- Click Integrate.
- Create your first custom audience (optional, but recommended).
- Set up your Lead Ad settings (optional, but recommended).
You can also return to add audiences and lead ads later by navigating back into your Meta Ads integration settings.
For more step-by-step instructions for finishing this integration, head to our Help Center article: Getting started with Meta Ads, or ask a question in Klaviyo Community for quick, crowdsourced responses.
Manage your Meta Ads permissions
Meta Ads accounts have 3 kinds of user permissions:
- Admin
- Advertiser
- Analyst
Your user role in Meta will impact what you can do with the tool (e.g., whether or not you can create ads, view reports, make payments, etc.).
Make sure to select the correct permissions for you and your team within Meta. Learn more.