Your Meta ad is live; now what?
Your work is not over once your Meta ad campaign is live and gaining traction. At the end of the day, you want to be confident that your money is being put to good use, and that you've targeted the right people with the right ad. The only way to gauge success is to analyze your ads results, and you can do so directly in your Meta and Klaviyo accounts without needing a third-party tool.
In the gallery tabs and dropdowns below, explore how to measure your performance in both Meta and Klaviyo so you can continue iterating on your Meta ads strategy.
Analyze your performance in Meta
The Meta Ads Manager is where you can find key metrics on how Meta users are interacting with your ad. Head to the Ads Reporting tab to find data on the following metrics categories:
Performance
Performance metrics encompass many helpful indicators, including your ad:
- Reach
- Impressions
- Clicks
- Frequency
- Delivery
- Amount spent
Engagement
Engagement metrics provide you with specific insights on how Meta users are interacting with your ad, such as:
- Comments
- Likes
- Reactions
- Shares
- Video plays
Conversions
Conversion metrics show you information about how your ad is contributing to the overall action you want ad viewers to take. For example:
- Add to cart
- Checkout initiated
- Add payment info
- App installs
You can also create custom conversions to track directly in the Meta Ads Manager.
Settings
Settings allow you to visualize key information about your ad in relation to other performance indicators, including:
- Objective
- Ad budget
- Call to action
- Included custom audiences
Another metric you’ll want to calculate is your Return on ad spend (ROAS). Your ROAS measures the value of your advertising investment divided by its cost. With any investment you make for your company, you will either see a net profit, loss, or break-even point. By projecting this in advance, you can better assess whether or not a specific project is worth the money you must spend to make it happen.
To calculate ROAS, use the following equation: ROAS = (Conversion value ÷ Cost of investment)
For example, let's say that you will make a profit of $50 from each sale you get from your ad campaign. You also project that this ad will cost you about $5 per click. In that case, your ROAS is 10 (because 50 ÷ 5 = 10). Thus, for every dollar you spend on this campaign, you will make a $10 profit. It's then up to you to decide if that value is worth the cost and effort you're putting into it.
Analyze your performance in Klaviyo
In Klaviyo, you can explore how your Meta ads have impacted your lead generation, product performance, and more. Expand the dropdowns to discover where you can view this data in your Klaviyo account.
Segment performance
If you’ve grouped your leads into segments, then you can also view segment growth and engagement by heading to Audience > Lists & segments. Then, click into your segment and and first select the Segment growth tab at the top to view how your segment has changed over time. Then, head over to the Engagement tab and run an engagement report to see how this segment is performing against key engagement metrics.
Lead acquisition trends
To visualize lead ad acquisition, head to Analytics > Metrics. Search for the Filled Out Lead Ad metric and click on it.
From there, you can explore a customizable chart to see specific segment engagement across date ranges. You can also explore the Activity feed, Cohorts, Best people, and Activity map tabs for more in-depth information about your new lead ad subscribers.
Product performance
If you’re interested in seeing how your Meta ad efforts contributed to the sale of a specific product, you can build a Product performance report in Klaviyo. Head to Analytics > Custom reports > Reports Library. Search for the Product performance report, and click it to open the template.
Once you customize the report to pull sales for your specific product in mind, make sure to set the timeframe to align with the live time of your Meta ad.
Follow-up messaging performance
Keep a close eye on any follow up messaging that pertains to your ad. Head to the Flows tab for an overview of your follow up automations, and click into an individual flow message to see specific open, click, conversion, unsubscribe, and spam complaint rates.